• Wichita

• Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in the American Midwest, including Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Iowa and Kansas. For questions specific to a railroad company, please seek the appropriate forum.
Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in the American Midwest, including Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Iowa and Kansas. For questions specific to a railroad company, please seek the appropriate forum.

Moderator: railohio

by diesel boy

Anything to see, or do around Wichita?
Thanks..DB
  by zwsplac

diesel boy wrote:Anything to see, or do around Wichita?
Thanks..DB
While I am by no means an expert on the Wichita itself, I frequently railfan the area and lines through it. To sum the rail scene of the town itself in a nutshell: BNSF and Union Pacific are the major players, with shortline Kansas Southwestern to a much lesser extent. The BNSF's Arkansas City sub runs north-south through town, as does UP's line (I believe it is the Wichita sub) At a location called North Junction, located just north of where Central Avenue crosses the tracks, these two lines join. To the northeast is UP's Kline Yard, a nice place to check out from I-135. To the north about a mile is BNSF's yard alongside Broadway Ave. Also, the KSW line crosses here, coming out of Kline Yard. About two miles to the south is South Junction, where the BNSF and UP split. It is just south of the Kellogg Ave (Major Street) overpass.

UP runs about 4-8 trains through here per day, and there's always something happening at Kline. Kline is also a good place to find interesting power. You can see the engine facilities from I-135. UP also has trackage rights down BNSF's Arkansas City sub to the named town to access ex-MP trackage there. The local that runs down there can usually be caught returning to Wichita around mid-afternoon on the days it does run. I've had great luck catching it on Saturdays.