Railroad Forums 

Discussion of the past and present operations of the Long Island Rail Road.

Moderator: Liquidcamphor

#244424  by Mark E. Smith

I recently saw an article about the train that handled the private car out of Oyster Bay. This was for a group of daily riders to comute too New York ( and other West end points ) on a daily basis. More or less like a private club.
As a locomotive engineer I worked this run for a week in the late forties.As an extra man I covered jobs that were open due to reguler men on vacation or off for other reasons. I had 30 years of this during my time with the L.I.R.R.
This club car was handled behind the locomotive in both derictions. On arrival at Long Island City the drill engine picked the train up of the road engine. ( Which returned lite to Morris Park) The clib car is cut off and train is placed on another track and club car is placed on East end for evening train for Oyster Bay.
On evening arrival in Oyster Bay engine cuts off and runs around train, cuts off club car and sets train on a track for morning westbound trip. Club car then picked up and added to West endof of train for A.M. train
 #244546  by Ocala Mike

I defer to Mark's "hands-on" experience with the Oyster Bay runs of the late forties. I wonder, though, if it's possible that during the period immediately AFTER the last steam run in 1955 (so, I mean late 1955-early 60's) the Club Cars were carried on the west end of the trains in both directions? This would have had them bringing up the rear of OB-bound trains and behind the diesel on LIC-bound trains.

I distinctly remember seeing the Club Cars at the rear of some OB-bound trains while trainwatching at track 8, Jamaica, during those years.

#245290  by RetiredLIRRConductor