• Jersey Field Lumber Company's railroad service

• Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in New York State.
Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in New York State.

Moderator: Otto Vondrak

by ginosrailpage

Here is a map I enhanced with numbers for people to describe locations on the Jerseyfield Lumber Company right-of-way. If anyone has questions on locations, or has some knowledge of locations, they can refer to the numbers on the map for explanation...

Gino
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
  by Gr8Johnson

I was just researching other topics and stumbled onto this forum, great info. I've been hunting this area for over 30 years mainly the back side of the boyer lake area. I also have a hunting camp just south of Klondike. My father has been hunting this area for about 60 years and still lives in the area. I know my great grandfather owned a bunch of land in this area and worked for one of the lumber companies, he could even be the Johnson logging outfit someone mentioned.
Some information I didn't see mentioned, there is an old railroad bed and even some existing rails located along the section of black creek that runs northward just north of Jerseyfield Mountain. There are also a couple locations that have some "remnants" of the camps that were established - peavy that has grown into a tree, some old crosscut saws, old cookstove, etc... My dad tells the story of one location that we refer to as "Preachers Rock" as it was where everyone gathered on a Sunday morning, and the preacher would stand on the rock and address everyone.

-tj
  by Gr8Johnson