Railroad Forums 

• All things Harrisburg (Keystone) Line

• Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.
Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.

Moderators: GirlOnTheTrain, mtuandrew, Tadman

#1592175  by WashingtonPark

checkmatechamp13 wrote: Fri Feb 18, 2022 10:38 pm $170 million for one extra daily train? What exactly are those infrastructure improvements? I doubt a few passing sidings cost $170 million.
Appears to be just another cash grab by NS to upgrade the infrastructure they've fallen behind on on the taxpayer's dime.
 #1596283  by Bracdude181

@scratchyx1 Ah I see. Sorry im new to this topic lol. Would be nice if they did build a station there. In my situation it would actually be cheaper to drive to the train station and take the train there. I have an older car with an 18 gallon fuel tank so filling it up with prices at $4 a gallon isn’t ideal lol.
 #1596286  by Pensyfan19

Bracdude181 wrote: Fri Apr 22, 2022 9:56 pm Has Amtrak and/or Strasburg ever considered building a station in Paradise? So you could take the train there and transfer to Strasburg?
In the 90s, there were a number of considerations of a Paradise station for that very purpose. The only thing that stalled all of them was the lack of ADA accessibility (not knowing where to place elevators). There's a well made video on this very topic found below.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T7j1Haa8HaI
 #1596291  by Bracdude181

Wow. Even the Amish want it! Kind of like how the Hasidic Jews here in Lakewood NJ want NJ Transit rail service! A shame the plan to have station just west of Paradise was shot down. I’m sincerely hoping that that they do build this station one day. Would much rather pay the $50 or so for Amtrak tickets than to put $60-$70 worth of gas and over 200 miles of wear and tear on my car!
 #1596300  by R36 Combine Coach