Railroad Forums 

• Peanut Line at WSRR JCT-ROW undisturbed

• Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in New York State.
Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in New York State.

Moderator: Otto Vondrak

#1568427  by SST

I've been riding my bike on the WSRR path for many years. Also make a short run on the Peanut. The other day, I guess the sun was in the right place and with no brush growing leaves my mind says, "What that?!" So I stopped and explored this little tiny patch. At first I thought it was just a deer/animal path. But soon I found undisturbed railroad ties perfectly lined up where they should be. Extremely rotted but there.

I thought maybe they cut a new section for the bike path and this patch was the actual mainline but it doesn't line up correctly. I believe this is a connector from the WS to the Peanut. Hopefully my Painted images will post here.

I tried to find the JCT on Erie.Gov but for the life of me I couldn't find it. So I used Acme Mapper. Now that I know what is there, it shows up on the SAT view. Clear as day. Markers A to B is where its at.
Markers A to B displays the connector
Markers A to B displays the connector
Peanut Connector ROW.png (2.16 MiB) Viewed 2036 times

This is the opposite view facing ESE. Connector on the left and Peanut straight ahead crossing the WSRR.

This "Painted" picture is facing west. The Peanut line is just after "A" and the WSRR is to the left out of view. Follow the red line and you can see the ties.
Attachments:
Peanut Connector1 ROW.png
Peanut Connector1 ROW.png (15.12 MiB) Viewed 2032 times
 #1568445  by BR&P

Penn Central ETT #7, effective May 19, 1974, shows Akron Jct as MP 406.6 on the West Shore, connects to Transit Road Running Track (Peanut)

Just imagine if digital photography had been around sooner. Sure would be neat to see some sort of switching move there, or a train going from one to the other.
 #1568481  by RailKevin