Railroad Forums 

• Do crew members talk to dispatchers?

• For topics on Class I and II passenger and freight operations more general in nature and not specifically related to a specific railroad with its own forum.
For topics on Class I and II passenger and freight operations more general in nature and not specifically related to a specific railroad with its own forum.

Moderator: Jeff Smith

#1557247  by Tdub

Just curious. Do crew members talk to dispatchers via phones, radio, or whatever or do they solely rely on line side signals and in cab signals? Also, do crew members talk to other trains in the are in which they are running to make sure there is not another train lurking around the next curve? I am new to rail fanning this question (most likely dumb) has always intrigued me. I live near the NS main in Sandusky, Ohio with plenty of action.

Thanks for any answers.
Tom
 #1557275  by Wayside

In territory with signal rules in effect (wayside, and/or cab), safe movement of trains is almost completely governed by signals that are automatically controlled by occupancy circuits in the track structures, so voice radio communication is minimally involved in controlling movements. This means that trains coming around the curve ahead are not a concern, since signals are protecting the traffic, both opposing and following. Train dispatchers orchestrate all movements from a central location.

Radio communication plays a critical role, though, in track warrant rules territory (non signaled), where authority to occupy track segments is communicated by voice transmissions in a very specific and controlled process that includes an accurate copying and read-back of this authority to ensure accuracy and safety of movements. However, automatic wayside block signals are often used in track warrant territory in order to expedite the following movements within track segments.
 #1557337  by MattW