• Getting started with the railroad

• General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.
General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.

Moderator: thebigc

by MatthewSC

Hello, I'm a hopeful applicant with the railroad industry. I've applied with a few railroad companies in my tri-state area. Unfortunately so far I've received a lot of No's but that is not stopping me as I'm continuing to apply. I have ZERO experience in the railroad but I'm young and want to make a decent living. This thread is not to ask how to get into the railroad, I know i need to keep applying and sometimes it takes awhile and like anything else maybe something with bite soon.

When you get started I notice they send you to their trade school to recieve training, my question is are there any text books or guide pages that I can purchase now to start my reading or what things do I need to learn so that I can start my process of gaining knowledge of my job?

Areas applied: track worker. intermodal service worker, and railcar repairer

Areas of interest: Conductor / Assistant Signal Worker

I write "areas of interest" because those positions I'm very unsure of with what their job entails, I haven't applied but I'm interested in them.
So generally my question to you is what material can I buy to start my learning process of the railroads.
  by Engineer Spike

Why not take some classes is a related field? If you want to be a carknocker, take a welding class. For the car dept., or track, get your CDL. The car department uses large trucks that can carry wheels. They go out to fix crippled cars, which can't be moved to a shop.

Some related industrial type jobs, which involve related skills might be helpful. A steady employment history is beneficial too. There aren't many jobs with the pay and benefits the railroad offers, so make yourself stand out.