• They ruined the Horseshoe Curve

• Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in Pennsylvania
Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in Pennsylvania

Moderator: bwparker1

by Idiot Railfan

I have been visiting the Horseshoe Curve since the mid-1970s. I was quite disappointed during my last visit after a couple years. The park and visitors' now center now closes at 6 p.m. and now even the parking lots are locked up at that time. During a visit a few years ago, we could still park and take the stairs up later in the evening.

Years ago there were many, many more people at the curve at all hours. Now it seems like a ghost town. Was there an after-hours incident at the park that necessitated closing in at such an early hour? I realize the tram is a great benefit for many, but is some ways it seems like the whole experience was more enjoyable when the park was less informal. Just sayin....
  by carajul

Stanley Crane of CR ruined HSC when he removed one of the tracks. Three tracks just doesnt look right to me!
  by Ken W2KB

Idiot Railfan wrote:I have been visiting the Horseshoe Curve since the mid-1970s. I was quite disappointed during my last visit after a couple years. The park and visitors' now center now closes at 6 p.m. and now even the parking lots are locked up at that time. During a visit a few years ago, we could still park and take the stairs up later in the evening.

Years ago there were many, many more people at the curve at all hours. Now it seems like a ghost town. Was there an after-hours incident at the park that necessitated closing in at such an early hour? I realize the tram is a great benefit for many, but is some ways it seems like the whole experience was more enjoyable when the park was less informal. Just sayin....
Perhaps because the railfan base is aging and many years ago able to railfan are no longer able?
  by charlie6017

Ken W2KB wrote: