Railroad Forums 

• Paint Schemes for MEC Cabooses

• Discussion relating to the pre-1983 B&M and MEC railroads. For current operations, please see the Pan Am Railways Forum.
Discussion relating to the pre-1983 B&M and MEC railroads. For current operations, please see the Pan Am Railways Forum.

Moderator: MEC407

#264576  by Amdaylight

Greetings,

I am seeking some information that I don’t have access to here in Portland, Oregon. I know the wrong Portland for this board but any way that is where I currently live. So all that said this is what I am seeking. During the 1938 to 1941 era what was the paint scheme of the Maine Central Cabooses? Did the cabooses have a distinct style or were they pretty much a standard northeast style caboose? And does this time period correspond to the red and yellow steam lettering scheme? What is the proper name of that scheme? The reason for all of this is that I am a narrow gauge modeler who happens to like “Maine Standard Gauge” especially where it interchange with the broad gauge like at Wiscasset and Farmington and I would like to try and model Wiscasset with its water front and interchange.

Thanks in Advance
Andre Anderson :-D
 #584882  by gokeefe

I'll be honest I can't even find evidence that the MEC had cabooses that far back. I know it sounds weird but it seems true. Strange.

Here's a photo of the WW&F/MEC Diamond in Wiscasset. Maybe someday they'll bring that back. Wouldn't that be a New England Railroading miracle.

http://gold.mylargescale.com/Scottychao ... sing01.jpg

WW&F #3 at the Wiscasset station:

http://lincoln.midcoast.com/~wwfry/hist ... tation.jpg
 #598854  by bmcdr