Railroad Forums 

• NS Urbana Local

• Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in the American Midwest, including Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Iowa and Kansas. For questions specific to a railroad company, please seek the appropriate forum.
Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in the American Midwest, including Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Iowa and Kansas. For questions specific to a railroad company, please seek the appropriate forum.

Moderator: railohio

#155365  by natethegreat

Hi,
I was wondering if anyone had information about the NS local job that serves urbana. This train seems to come through once a week. Also, I was wondering about the line that comes through urbana. Any info would be welcome.

Thanks,
Nate

#155419  by MR77100

I graduated from U of I in December, so I have alot of knowledge of the railroads in the area. The line that NS runs on in Urbana is the old Peoria & Eastern, a subsidiary of the Big Four, which became the NYC. The P&E and Wabash ran side-by-side as they crossed the IC main south of Bradley Ave. In the later years, the P&E and Wabash actually merged their trackage together. Where the tracks cross University Ave, the line dogbones off the Wabash ROW and back onto the P&E. Near the east side of Urbana, the Wabash swung southeast to Sidney, where it joined up with the mainline. A piece of this track still remains to that Solo cup factory, one of the customers that NS still serves. The P&E then ran east to Danville, then Indianapolis, and eventually to Springfield, OH. NS tore up the Danville-Urbana segment in 1996 after they had bought it from Conrail. They had bought the line in order to obtain business from the Anderson grain elevator in Mahamot. West of Mansfield, the P&E is out of service and might be up for abandonment.
Hope this helps.

#155598  by natethegreat

THanks for the info...