Railroad Forums 

• New to the Railroad

• General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.
General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.

Moderator: thebigc

#1067586  by BK1977

Hello everyone,
I am new to the railroad world. I have accepted the position of Freight Conductor for CSX in the North East region. I come from a Fire/Medic and Security background and am leaving my comfort zone completely for a total career change. I have been reading good and bad about all aspects of the job. I'm really trying to figure out from people who are already involved in this industry. I'm not looking for sugar coated answers or Bitter responses I'm simply looking for I hope will be factual truths about the job and equipment and if I need to purchase anything aside the " issued " equipment. I am open to all comments good and bad and also anything from spouses so I can prepare my spouse for what's to come after I come back from REDI. Thank you all in advance
 #1067596  by charlie6017

Off to the Employment Forum....you'll find a gazillion threads already there on CSX employment and lots of railroaders there to answer any questions.

Good luck!

Charlie
 #1067904  by COEN77