Railroad Forums 

Discussion related to commuter rail and rapid transit operations in the Chicago area including the South Shore Line, Metra Rail, and Chicago Transit Authority.

Moderators: metraRI, JamesT4

#1057104  by lstone19

I did some railfan riding of Metra yesterday and it was frustrating. And while I think Metra does a very good job with rush-hour trains, I realized, much of my off-peak Metra riding is frustrating.

As you might know from what I've mentioned in other posts, I work in the transportation industry and a lot of my job is looking at performance. An old railroad adage is "late trains get later" and I think a lot of it for a reason that I see at work as well. When you have a binary on-time performance standard (a train is either on-time or it is late although on-time may include being up to a certain number of minutes late), once it is certain that a train will miss being considered on-time, people lose their focus on it. The attitude is "it's late so a few more minutes of lateness won't make a difference". And that's true for the performance measure but not for the passenger who thought the hour allowed to get to their appointment would be more than adequate and is now wondering if they will make it. I might argue that a late train should be more important as more of the passengers are "on deadline". As I've said at work and will now rephrase for Metra, "are you in the business of operating trains or moving people?" They sound the same but they aren't. If you're "operating trains", you worry about hitting the performance measures and when a train can't meet them, it becomes a low priority. "Moving passengers" means you understand that there are hundreds of passengers on that train who still want to get to their destination ASAP.