Railroad Forums 

• LIRR Locomotive Engineer Position

• General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.
General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.

Moderator: thebigc

#525839  by lovebug11768

I am thinking about apply for the LIRR Locomotive Engineer position and was wondering what type of salary the LIRR offers for that position.

Also, what are the chances of them hiring an external candidate? I have no locomotive experience but I am a commercial pilot and certified flight instructor with a master's degree. I am also female, if that has any relevance.

Any info will help. Thanks :)

#526054  by Endlessquest

Hello Lovebug,

APPLY, APPLY, APPLY!!! . I sent in a resume for the Locomotive Engineer Trainee position in October after seeing it on their web site. They called me in for an interview in January. After 3 tests and 2 interviews, I began my 6 week phase one training today.

Most of the people at the first orientation were off the street and in their 30's and 40's.

The railroad wants mature, career orientated people with any kind of work history that involves shift work, safety and commitment.

With your aviation background you would be the ideal candidate. You have already demonstrated that you can obtain a federal license, safely operate complex equipment and make critical decisions involving the safety of passengers and crew.

#526163  by lovebug11768

Thanks for the reply. Do you know what salary, vacation, benefits, etc. they offer?

#526291  by Endlessquest

Pay...$25 and change/hr during the 13 month phase 2 training, then $36 and change/hr after qualifying.

Full benifit package 100% funded by company.

Two weeks vacation until yr 3, then 3 weeks toping out with 5 weeks after 15 years.

#526430  by jz441