Railroad Forums 

• Journeyman Machinist, Amtrak

• General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.
General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.

Moderator: thebigc

#1247618  by dequino67

Hey guys, I just received an invitation to test for a Journeyman Machinist position at Amtrak. Got a few questions....

1. Is there any reference material or book I can review to increase my chances of getting a good score? The test is on Feb. 11th. so I should
get crackin on it.

2. I was told (by the Amtrak HR rep for Los Angeles, where I'll be working) that this position is the same as Diesel Mechanic at other Class I rail companies. Is that right?

3. Do you know if there will be training involved? Or do they expect you to jump right in as it's a journeyman position?

My background is with motorcycle mechanics, and I have no experience at all with diesel engines. Am I barking up the wrong tree? I'm
inclined to think not seeing that I was sent the invitation. Just not sure if my experience will translate.

Any insight or advice would be greatly appreciated.
 #1251535  by dequino67

Okay... Passed the test and it was easier than I expected. Now I have an interview on Monday.

Question: What would be appropriate attire for the interview?

Normally I would wear dress shirt/tie/slacks, but this is at the yard and isn't an office job. Would jeans, polo shirt and boots be acceptable? Or should I stick with the shirt/tie?

I'm probably overthinking it, but what the hell, doesn't hurt to ask.
 #1251614  by mvb119