Railroad Forums 

• Issues with locomotive lights in my photos...

• Discussion of photography and videography techniques, equipment and technology, and links to personal railroad-related photo galleries.
Discussion of photography and videography techniques, equipment and technology, and links to personal railroad-related photo galleries.

Moderators: nomis, keeper1616

#678196  by NellsChoo

Hi all

I have been snapping digital photos of trains for about 6 years now (wow, how did THAT happen???). I have stuck with Canon the whole time, though I have tried Nikon, Olympus, and Panasonic cameras (only the Panasonic Lumix I kept). I currently have a Canon SX10IS Powershot.

My issue is with diesel locomotive lights. They never used to be problem, but now they are ruining some of my photos. They appear like big orange halos. I have to wait for the train to get to the right angle before the issue goes away. This makes sence, but I never had such a problem before, and certain shots just aren't coming out as well as they should.

Is it possible that the lens of the camera is different than my old ones, or could it be the electronics? Supposedly this Canon can't accept filters, but I am not sure as I don't have experience with SLRs and how such things work.

Any thoughts?

JD
 #678478  by mxdata

Modern digital camera lenses are designed to perform well in typical consumer use, but shooting right into bright headlights is not a common use, and locomotive headlights are particularly intense. Generally the faster the lens and the more elements it has, the more likely it is to flare when pointed into a headlight. Lens flare is pretty common in pocket type digitals with long zoom range.