Railroad Forums 

Discussion relating to the PRR, up to 1968. Visit the PRR Technical & Historical Society for more information.
 #1249915  by Blockhead98

Hi: I'm a block operator for the LIRR. Our parent is the Metropolitan Transportation Authority. The MTA is quite a large organzation, not even including Meto-North, the LIRR, The NY subway, etc. According to a reference I found on the Pennsylvania Railroad museum site, the Pennsylvania Railroad employed as mnay as 280000 people. How many of those were management, office and clerical? I'd be curious to compare that number to how many work for the MTA.
Thanks

Rob
 #1250535  by ExCon90

From 1888 until well after the PC merger, the Interstate Commerce Commission published annual reports (6x9", hardbound, blue cover) containing virtually all information submitted to it by the railroads, very finely broken down. I don't know how many libraries have those reports, but if you can find one that's accessible I think the employment figures were broken down by management & administrative, operations, and so forth. The ICC itself was sunsetted in 1995, and all their records were acquired by the University of Denver, but I don't know whether they're catalogued and available for reference, or still in cardboard boxes waiting for volunteers to deal with them. I checked the Centennial History of the PRR 1846-1946, but it gives only the total employment for each year. I took a quick look at the PRRT&HS website
(http://www.prrths.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;) but couldn't tell whether they have that information.
 #1252432  by edbear

I have a 1957 Moody's Manual which gives PRR employment by department. I can't go back to 280,000 but this is how it stacks up.

Dept. 1947 1956

Executive 873 863
Professional & Clerical 20,801 17,485
Maint of Way 19,646 12,908
Maint of Equipment 48,136 30,120
Transportation 59,065 42,248

1947 totals is about 148,000 and 1956 is about 103,000