Railroad Forums 

• How do railroads get their names?

• This forum is for discussion of "Fallen Flag" roads not otherwise provided with a specific forum. Fallen Flags are roads that no longer operate, went bankrupt, or were acquired or merged out of existence.
This forum is for discussion of "Fallen Flag" roads not otherwise provided with a specific forum. Fallen Flags are roads that no longer operate, went bankrupt, or were acquired or merged out of existence.

Moderator: Nicolai3985

#253684  by lvanorail

So I'm curious. In my research, I've never found anything specific about it, but have any of you out there heard of a standardized way fallen flag companies were named? I mean it's pretty clear what B&O or Erie were named after. Was it always just the big points they connected?

Now one thing I haven't yet encountered (and I'm somewhat new to railfanning, so please bear with me), but are routes (by which I mean the raillines themselves, rather than the overarching company) named simply for their destinations? And can anyone refer me to what were considered classic routes of days past? Thanks.
 #254125  by bill haithcoat

No, each railroad was completely separate, no connection as in an overall "theme" for them. For that, there would had to have been an over-all company operatiing them.

Fallen railroads just means railroads which no longer exists. There were well over one hundred at times.

Each a completely separate company and they would not all be named after end points, etc.

Some railroads were mis-named. Example:Frisco, nickname for St. Louis-San Francisco. It never sent to SF, perhaps it was intended to but it never did. Some railroads really were self-descriptive, like Florida East Coast(i.e. JAX to Miami). Others went to places far more than their state names, such as Pennsylvania, and New York Central. Louisville and Nashville went to many cities besides those.

Here are some railroad names, in addition to those above: