Railroad Forums 

Discussion relating to the PRR, up to 1968. Visit the PRR Technical & Historical Society for more information.
 #1340670  by TheOldDessauer

Hello all; I am new to Railroad.net and am looking forward to talking about all things railroading with all of you.

I am a player of the video game Train Simulator from Dovetail Games. They have a blog called Engine Driver.com where players can submit proposals for locomotives, rolling stock, and routes that they would like to see made for use in the game. I am writing a proposal on the Pennsylvania J1 2-10-4, because I think it would be great to have for our Horseshoe Curve Route. I am almost done with the article, but I would like to finish it by contrasting the J1 with the Q2. The problem is that I am lacking specific information in regards to where each of the locomotives could "fit"'; that is, where they were assigned and regularly operated.

Specifically: I need detailed information about where each locomotive type could and did operate on the system.

1) I am aware that the J1 operated regularly Westward from Altoona, up and around the curve and on to Pittsburgh. Also, I know that they regularly operated across Ohio, Indiana, and on to East St. Louis. Was the J1 precluded from operating between Harrisburg and Altoona at all because of minimum turning radius, clearances, or axle loading? Did they in fact operate occasionally between those two terminals (I have not seen a pictures of them doing so...)? What about operating into Chicago?