Railroad Forums 

• Hand signals!

• General discussion about railroad operations, related facilities, maps, and other resources.
General discussion about railroad operations, related facilities, maps, and other resources.

Moderator: Robert Paniagua

#106736  by steam371

Hey, I'm a newbie (7 months on a switching railroad)!
where can I find a guide for hand signals?!, I've learned the basics, but some of the old hoggers and conductors, use some i've never seen before. Any help would be great!

#107400  by SRS125

holding your arms strate out and flaping your hands up and down means slow down.

holding your arm out above your head makeing a fist is stop.

holding your right or left arm and rotateing your hand in a counter clock wise direction is a back up signal. Once in the deisred spot swing the same arm down across the body would be a stop signal.

There are several outher hand and body signals I don't rember them all thow.

These may be out dated hand signals but thats what I learned during my short time working on the railroad.
Last edited by SRS125 on Thu Mar 17, 2005 1:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

#107895  by Aji-tater

SRS, you have no idea what you are talking about. Some of your posts are helpful and informative, thank you. But Please Please Please don't post something just for the sake of posting.

Holding your arms straight (strate?) out and flapping your hands up and down, in most places, means you're imitating a bird.

"Holding your are" - what does than mean? Assuming you meant arm, holding your ARM straight above your head means release brakes.

Holding your arm out and rotating your hand counter clockwise (or clockwise for that matter) is going to be pretty hard for an engineer 25 cars away to see - especially at night!!!