Railroad Forums 

• Greetings from UNH

• Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in New England
Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in New England

Moderators: MEC407, NHN503

#184668  by Finch

Hey folks, just registered with this forum.

I'm pretty much from a train family, and I seem to have caught the railroad bug from my father, uncles, and grandfather. My grandfather (James Finch) has worked for the New York Central and New Haven railroads. He was an exec at one of them for a time...maybe vice president of the NYC or something...but I don't really remember. Anyhow, he's a train guy. Then there's Uncle Peter who was at one time, if I remember correctly, Chief Safety Engineer (or something like that) for Amtrak's Northeast Corridor. And my uncle Jay used to work at the White River Junction station on Amtrak's Vermonter route. My dad doesn't work for the railroad but likes trains. So I guess it's sort of in my blood. :-D

I'm a student at the University of New Hampshire, and I'm greatly enjoying my close proximity to trains up here! The Downeaster goes right through campus (actually stops on campus), and there's a fair amount of freight on the route as well. I've been writing down the times when freight trains go by, though I'm sure I miss some of them because I'm not right next to the tracks. I've started noticing patterns in when the freight trains go by, but it's a very rough science. Mostly it's just fun!

Anyhow that's where I'm at. Any info about radio feed or schedules or anything from freight in this area?

#184670  by Aji-tater