Railroad Forums 

• Good Toledo Observation Sites?

• Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in the American Midwest, including Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Iowa and Kansas. For questions specific to a railroad company, please seek the appropriate forum.
Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in the American Midwest, including Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Iowa and Kansas. For questions specific to a railroad company, please seek the appropriate forum.

Moderator: railohio

#173742  by ToledoRailFan

First post here.. but yea...
I'm a student at UT - love the atmosphere of being around all of the trains. I haven't quite found any good places to go trainwatching around here, though. I used to live ~ 100 feet from the Conrail line that runs throuch campus when I lived in the dorms, but that's not a very active line anymore. I drive through the railyard off of Westwood every time I go through the area, but have yet to get out and watch anything. Is it a safe practice to do, or am I going to stir up anything like a trespassing complaint or such?

Are there any other good areas to go trainwatching around here? I have looked around, but can't seem to find any.

~D.J.~

#173980  by chessie8212

Toledo's a little tricky. There aren't many places within the city that the tracks go that are also friendly places. Usually, your best bet is to head just out of the city. These are a few of the places I've gone without being hassled.

Vickers - In Northwood at the corner of Wales and Drouillard. Good view of the the NS Chicago Line and CSX from Walbridge crossing.

Railside Park - In Walbridge off of Main St. This gives you a view of the north end of Walbridge Yard.

Friendship Park - Just south of Walbridge on Drouillard Rd. This isn't the best place, but you can get close to the tracks of Walbridge Yard and any northbound traffic.