Railroad Forums 

Discussion relating to the PRR, up to 1968. Visit the PRR Technical & Historical Society for more information.
 #328092  by Tadman

I noticed the ex-GN motors that PRR bought had traction motors that operate on 1500vDC. Does this mean they could be operated under 1500vDC catenary such as that on CSS if the wiring from pans to transformer was shorted, and fed directly into the motors, thus feeding 1500vDC direct to motors (or motor control devices such as inverters?)

And does this mean if a GG1 has motors operable on 1500 or or 650v DC, they could be operated under the catenary at CSS or IRM, respectively, if the necessary operating components - motors, controls, pans, running gear - could be effectively restored? I understand one of the largest imepidments to running a G again is the fact Amtrak wouldn't want them on NEC, and the transformers are broken and sometimes filled with sand, because mercury transformers are hazardous now.

I'm no electrician or electrical engineer, but I worked around electric cranes long enough to know just enough to be dangerous.

#328319  by Lucius Kwok

There's not much solid technical information on the GG-1 that I can find, but it seems they used universal motors, so they could run on both AC and DC. The throttle controlled tap changers, and I don't know how they would be controlled in DC mode.

The power draw at full throttle on a GG-1 would probably overwhelm the existing substations, and there may be issues with supporting the weight of a GG-1 on light rails and bridges.

#328534  by Tadman