Railroad Forums 

• GE Corporate News

• Discussion of General Electric locomotive technology. Current official information can be found here: www.getransportation.com.
Discussion of General Electric locomotive technology. Current official information can be found here: www.getransportation.com.

Moderators: MEC407, AMTK84

#1434571  by Allen Hazen

"New York Times"(*)
https://www.nytimes.com/2017/06/12/busi ... v=top-news" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
reports that Immelt is stepping down has GE's CEO, to be replaced by someone named Flannery, whose prior experience seems to have been largely on the financial side. (Simonelli, who at one time headed GETS, is named as one of the candidates passed over.)

There is no mention of the locomotive business in the article, but a bar graph suggests that "Transportation" yields something like 2 and a half percent of GE's revenues.

(*) I have a subscription, but I think non-subscribers are allowed to read some small number of articles monthly on the NYT's web site.
 #1434588  by Gilbert B Norman

Here is coverage from The Journal (may or may not be able to access - Google AMP sometimes can crack a paywall):

https://www.google.com/amp/www.wsj.com/ ... 1497276816" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Fair Use:
...Jeff Immelt became chairman and CEO of General Electric Co., one of the world’s largest corporate conglomerates, in 2001. On Monday, the company said he would retire as CEO in August.

Here is a rundown of some of his accomplishments and the changes that occurred at GE under his leadership:

Sept. 7, 2001: Mr. Immelt becomes GE’s chairman and CEO.
Like Mr. Hazen, I too wonder the life expectancy of the transportation product lines. The 2016 "coloring book", aka Annual Report, concurs with The Times reportage.

Now that they have shed Consumer Products, and Entertainment, looks like the only way John Q will have contact with the company is to "take a ride on the MRI Express".