Railroad Forums 

• Future Railroad Employees

• A forum for teen railroad enthusiasts
A forum for teen railroad enthusiasts

Moderator: TAMR213

#606726  by KAWASAKI-FAN100

If I can't get a job in my field I plan to get a high position in SEPTA. Maybe a Public Relations officer.
 #613650  by ErieLimited2914

I'm a sophomore in high school and I hope to work at Strasburg after college or for a summer next year or the year after. I'd love to work for NJ Transit, but it's too rough. First 5 years is working the extra list and you can't plan to do anything at any day because you're on call, and its long hours and early mornings and late nights.

I'm going to go to school for engineering, and am going to take a few night classes to learn machining. I'm about to start building a Little Engines 4-6-2 Pacific modeled after an Erie K5s, and want to learn machining so I can do it in my garage to build it from rough castings. There's something about building something completely from scratch that gives you an extra satisfaction when its done.
 #637962  by joecop509

jogden wrote:
AznSumtinSumtin wrote:(I honestly don't what you call it when you "drive" a subway train).
motorman

anyways...i want to operate trains as well, but probably something bigger than the subway. :-D
I AGRE I WANT TO WORK FOR AMTRAK, CSXT OR UNION PACIFIC AS A TRAIN OPPERATOR.
I AMADGIN FOR THES JOBS YOU CAN’T BE ON DRUGS OR RUN IN WITH THE LAW BUT COMEON IM A PROUD CATHOLOIC :-) I DON’T THINK ALL THAT WILL HAPPEN
 #644239  by Chessie GM50

Currently going for a Major in Biomedical Engineering, and a minor in Photography.

NJT is somewhere back on the list, but it is still there...
 #644410  by atsf sp

I used to want to be an train engineer but now I'm not even having that in my mind. It depends on what I study in college. If I go for history, the RRs are virtually out. But if I go for business, I would probably apply for a management or logistics job on BNSF or CSX.
 #680424  by Darien Red Sox