Railroad Forums 

• Found old tracks on property...ID help

• General discussion about locomotives, rolling stock, and equipment
General discussion about locomotives, rolling stock, and equipment

Moderator: John_Perkowski

#1161771  by zebra

(Moderator) Forgive me if I've posted this in the wrong place and feel free to repost in the appropriate location

I metal detect as a hobby and was testing my gear in my front yard and came across a set of 10 foot railroad tracks that appear to be quite old and made of iron. The width between the tracks (believe it's called "gauge") was 3 feet. The one rail had "ET 40" stamped on the side and the other I can only read partial, "...S BUFFALO 400", or something like that. Both rails measure the same: the flat bottom measures 3.5 inches wide. The height is also 3.5 inches and the width of the top rail is 2 inches. The square bolt used in the (fishplates?) appear to be non-machined hand forged. I'm no expert. It is for this reason, I've posted this hoping someone on this forum can ID these rails and give me their age. Thank you for your interest. Tried to upload some pics (especially a cross section view, but can't seem to do it. If there is a way please let me know, and I'll upload.
 #1164324  by toolmaker

Well it's more interesting finding a former narrow gauge line than a water line in your front yard. Now how did they get there. Are you near an old industrial area?
 #1164480  by RussNelson

I did some research. There were a number of steel companies in Buffalo. The "ET 40" typically meant the "ET" company rolled the rails in '40. 1840 would be quite early for the railroad industry, but they were building tram roads at that time -- horse-drawn carts running on rails, and lightweight rails like the ones you found would be typical of the time. But rails that were buried for a long period of time would be badly corroded, whereas rails buried since 1940 would not be so bad.