Railroad Forums 

• Do railroads hire 18 year olds?

• General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.
General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.

Moderator: thebigc

#1348104  by FutureLEHopeful

My dream job has always been to become a locomotive engineer. I have always wanted to be one for as long as I can remember. Since I'm 18 now, I wanted to see if it was possible to get my foot in the door by getting a railroad job. Currently I'm still in high school, but I have way more credits than I need, so I'm slated to be done by December. I planned to start applying after I was done with school. As far as work history goes, I have never held a regular job before but I have a clean criminal and drug record and I'm also a soldier in the Army National Guard. The railroads that I wanted to apply to were SEPTA and Amtrak and I wanted to start out as an assistant conductor and hopefully get promoted or work my way up.
 #1348196  by FutureLEHopeful

Acela150 wrote:Yes. It does happen. Check your PM's. I'll shoot you one.
I received it and I thank you, as it was very informative. I do have some questions, but unfortunately I couldn't reply due to being a new user.
 #1348230  by 8th Notch

So why do you want to be a locomotive engineer? I only ask because you are still young and surely it will be one of your interview questions someday so never to early to come up with a good reason.

Edit: I was 18 when I hired on as a trainmen, it's very hard to get picked up but not impossible. You probably need to build some type of work experience first, I know I had 2 retail jobs going when I got picked up.
 #1348240  by FutureLEHopeful

8th Notch wrote:So why do you want to be a locomotive engineer? I only ask because you are still young and surely it will be one of your interview questions someday so never to early to come up with a good reason.