Railroad Forums 

Discussion relating to the D&H. For more information, please visit the Bridge Line Historical Society.

Moderator: MEC407

#363250  by tbc1

1) I am new to this so treat me gently
2) What is the proper name of the above line?
3) My son is railanning it and it seems to be embargoed. Whats up?

#363279  by Ken V

The CPR line between Schenectady NY and Sunbury PA (via Binghamton) is simply called the Freight Main Line. This name goes back to the days when the D&H was an independent railroad.

The D&H had many lines in the area around Schenectady, Albany, and Saratoga Springs, some of which are now abandoned. It could be that the particular area your son railfans is less busy than others nearby, or it could be that it's as good as it gets. There isn't a whole lot of rail traffic around there these days.

I'm moving your question to the Delaware and Hudson Forum where there will hopefully be better answers.

#363549  by Noel Weaver

The question relates to the line between Schenectady and Binghamton and
this line originally was known as the Susquehanna Division in earlier D & H
days. The division was headquartered in Oneonta until operations were
centralized in Oneonta but I do not remember just what year this took
place.
Noel Weaver
 #364502  by ChiefTroll

It was late 1957, IIRC, that the Susquehanna Division (and the Pennylvania Division and Saratoga-Champlain Divisions) were abolished and consolidated in Albany. The dispatchers remained in Oneonta for a few more years until about 1961, when they and the cTc machine were moved to the General Office Building at Albany.

Joseph C. Brennan, P.E., (BCE, RPI, '29) was the last Superintendent at Oneonta. He became Assistant Chief Engineer at Albany. Joe was one of the D&H people who led me to work for them, a truly great guy to work for. He was also the engineer in charge of the design and construction of the Sanford Lake Extension during WW II. He could tell some stories about that project.