Railroad Forums 

• Crossing Accident at UT

• Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in the American Midwest, including Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Iowa and Kansas. For questions specific to a railroad company, please seek the appropriate forum.
Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in the American Midwest, including Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Iowa and Kansas. For questions specific to a railroad company, please seek the appropriate forum.

Moderator: railohio

#14481  by chessie8212

I am a student at UT and we have a single track branch line that runs through our campus to a grain elevator in Michigan. This line is at a restricted speed as trains only come through on this jointed rail at about 10 mph.

Tonight a Jeep Wrangler was struck by an NS local hauling roughly 20 grain cars back to the NS yard. It happened about 45 minutes ago. There were 4 passengers in the car when it was struck. All four were standing and talking to police officers at the scene. One will be transported to a local hospital after complaining of slight pain in his ribs.

What gets me the most is this...

The attitude of the onlookers. All were completely bashing the railroad. Any and all complaints were being said. From "When are they gonna get this stupid thing moving so I don't have to listen to it all night" to "These things come through so slow, I can understand why they did it"

They come through here slow so that people don't DIE when they do something stupid like this. The line runs right behind the Fraternity/Sorority row. God only knows what would happen when alcohol, frat boys, and fast trains are all in a close area. It's not the train's fault. It's not the railroad's fault. It's the students who attempted to beat a SHORT freight train which would have cost them maybe 2 or 3 minutes.