Railroad Forums 

• CR on the Southern Secondary

• Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in New Jersey
Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in New Jersey

Moderator: David

#1571503  by Bracdude181

@NY&LB The school bus thing was something I found out in high-school. My school district payed a private firm for transportation and sometimes the drivers would tell me stuff lol.

As for 4452 and 4432, I took a vocational school class on internal combustion engines so I have some knowledge on how they work and identifying problems.

4452 leaks so much oil that it’s completely covered some of the tracks in browns, and 4432 has no pulling power. I’ve got a feeling that engine is actually a GP38-2S, which is a CSX rebuild program to try and make GP40s more fuel efficient.

The results of that seem very mixed. Some came out fine while others have come out horrible.

Anyone remember CSX 4441? That engine was a GP38-2S and it was universally hated by North Jersey crews. No power, and it sounded awful too.
 #1571508  by CharlieL

I am not surprised that the locomotives being used on the southern are older and coming due for overhaul or replacement. No sense in CSX letting CRSA use state-of -the-art power on what is essentially a cake-walk run when it could be used more profitably hauling mile-long revenue freight. The Pennsy did the same with their old obsolete and just about worn-out K4s's on the NJCL back in the day. Can't get much flatter than South Amboy to Bay Head. Same goes for NS if they had PTC.
 #1571511  by Bracdude181