Railroad Forums 

• CPR Line Through Winona, MN

• General discussion about railroad operations, related facilities, maps, and other resources.
General discussion about railroad operations, related facilities, maps, and other resources.

Moderator: Robert Paniagua

#321399  by enjoythesilence

Do any engineers or conductors make runs on this line quite often? I'm a college student living in Winona right by the tracks and a railfan. Just curious, I heard a rumor that CPR was talking about running over 50+ trains through here a day?

#321416  by Aji-tater

Hmmmmmm.....someone brand new, with a screen name "enjoy the silence", claiming to be a railfan but asking about rumors of increased traffic on a rail line. Do I smell a NIMBY?

#321503  by enjoythesilence

Aji-tater wrote:Hmmmmmm.....someone brand new, with a screen name "enjoy the silence", claiming to be a railfan but asking about rumors of increased traffic on a rail line. Do I smell a NIMBY?
actually no. don't be so quick to judge. I made the screen name "enjoythesilence" because it's a song from Depeche Mode. I actually am a railfan, not a extreme one, I don't go watching and take pictures and all that garbage. I was asking because whenever they do come through town they always cause major traffic jams. I had an apprenticeship program with BNSF when i was in high school working in the yard with a trainmaster. Decided against the railroad and am half a semester away from being a certified automotive tech.

#321529  by Aji-tater

OK ETS, I'll accept that explanation. I'm not real familiar with that Deep Commode group but I have heard the name. And the fact that you checked out being a TM and chucked it says you DO have a clue ;-) I'm just aji-tating things a bit!

All that behind us, I'm not familiar with the line you ask about but no doubt someone here will be able to answer. If you don't get an answer here in a couple days try posting on the CP Rail forum.

#321560  by enjoythesilence

Do you work for CPR?