Railroad Forums 

• CPR Line going through Winona,MN

• Discussion relating to the past and present operations of CPR. Official web site can be found here: CPR.CA. Includes Kansas City Southern.
Discussion relating to the past and present operations of CPR. Official web site can be found here: CPR.CA. Includes Kansas City Southern.

Moderators: Komachi, Ken V

#321390  by enjoythesilence

Do any engineers or conductors make runs on this line quite often? I'm a college student living in Winona right by the tracks and a railfan. Just curious, I heard a rumor that CPR was talking about running over 50+ trains through here a day?
 #321673  by Komachi

Winona...

Ah, my old "stomping grounds." Brings back fond memories (see my post in the "Railroad Operations Forum").

However, it's been about ten years since I was there, so I can't tell you what they're planning, or if the info. you have is fact or fiction.

#323818  by dhaugh

I don't quite see how CP could instantly boost that much traffic, regardless of whether the line is equipped to handle it. Where would it come from? I think they might run around 25-30 daily now? Where do the rest come from? The only thing I could see would be a major reroute off the trans-Canadian line for east coast traffic, but I don't know much about CP traffic patterns. I guess the other possibility is when and if DM&E gets their coal trains and if they hand off trains at Winona. Again, I really don't think it'd be that many as whatever coal traffic DM&E does get could be going a lot of different directions: to the Twin Cities on UP at Mankato and down the ICE at Owatonna. Winona would be the last stop on the DME.

#332282  by GOLDEN-ARM