Railroad Forums 

• Books?

• General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.
General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.

Moderator: thebigc

#932430  by Crosstimbers Okie

Greetings everyone!
Can anyone recommend any books that can function as a training manual for an aspiring Trainman?
 #932598  by gp80mac

If you want to be a trainman, hire on as a trainman.

Most of the learning is OJT.
 #932669  by slchub

As an aspiring trainman, read up on how to best tweak your resume and improve your interview skills. If you work in an environment where you can be on a safety committee/team then do so. Any Class 1 RR (or Class II) will give a hill of beans about what you may have read or know prior to hiring on. You don't need to flaunt your knowledge of the RR when it was self taught. You'll be given a couple pounds worth of books and reading material when you are hired on. The last thing you need is to declutter the material you have learned before hand when it may be totally irrelevant to the RR which has hired you.

Good luck.
 #932770  by Engineer Spike

I agree with tweaking your resume. Every railroad has its own policies and rules. Learn it their way> Have open ears, and be ready to learn if you get hired.
 #932924  by COEN77

Forget about books. The railroad will teach you everything you need to learn. They prefer it like that it's their way of doing things not any other way. I've seen the rail fan hire out at times it became a deterent to their training. Even experienced railroaders who try to hire on with other railroads are informed to forget about what they know as to conform to their requirements. So, can reading about railroading help? It doesn't.
 #933220  by AEM7AC920

+1 Your main issue is getting the job first forget the rest until later. Focus on your resume and doing well on your interview.
 #936201  by dbask27