Railroad Forums 

• BNSF or UP? Signal apprentice vs Diesel Electrician

• General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.
General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.

Moderator: thebigc

#1318077  by Laudydaudy

Hello everyone,

I finished 9yrs of active duty in the Marine Corps in 2011. I have been going to school full-time and I recently applied and have opportunities with both BNSF and UP for either diesel electrician or signal apprentice. I have decided to transfer my school to an online program to finish my bachelor's in civil engineering and take a job with the railroad. I have 9 years of experience troubleshooting electronics in the Marine Corps and I am interested in electrical work and also construction. My question is which Class I railroad is better to work for? (I like both of the locations they have offered me and the pay is comparable) Which job is a better entry level position? (I don't care if I have to travel)

I am a little concerned with Warren Buffet buying BNSF and if it will go down hill as putting profit over its employees. This article raises concern for me with BNSF http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/ ... vice-slows" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false; .I am not afraid of hard work and as soon as I finish my degree in civil engineering I would like to apply it and stay with the railroad and move up the chain. If you were in my shoes and had opportunities with both companies and also could choose which job to pick to start out in which one would you choose?

Thanks for reading :)
 #1318918  by MichaelB86