Railroad Forums 

• Bellevue

• Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in the American Midwest, including Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Iowa and Kansas. For questions specific to a railroad company, please seek the appropriate forum.
Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in the American Midwest, including Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Iowa and Kansas. For questions specific to a railroad company, please seek the appropriate forum.

Moderator: railohio

#144604  by mike

A quick question...I'm going to be heading to Bellevue this coming Sunday to check out the Nickel Plate museum there for the first time. While I'm there, I want to check out any good places to watch trains, but since it's my first time being there, I'm pretty much in the dark. Anyone have any good suggestions? Thanks in advance.

#144958  by matt

Hey Mike, I've always had trouble finding viewing spots in Bellevue. I hear some people watch from the overpass of route (4?) but it sounds kinda busy and noisy to me. From hear you get a good view of the engine servicing facility and the mains but I've never gotten out up there.

Let me know if you find a good place.

#145141  by shlustig

If you want ground level photos, use the Center St. or Cemetery St. crossings. There is a parking area at each.

Also, on the South Side just past the Columbus Line / Ft. Wayne Line junction, there is a good viewing area with parking. (If there is no event at the Italian - American Social Club, you can usually park in the back lot under the trees.

Depending on traffic flow, you might also want to take a look at Attica Jct. where the Columbus Line crosses the CSX mainline. South on SR-269 / 4 about 12 miles.

Also, you could take a run up to Bay Jct. (CP-242) on the West Side of Sandusky where the Columbus Line crosses the Water Level Route.

#145247  by matt