Railroad Forums 

• Applying to an Amtrak Engineer position

• General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.
General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.

Moderator: thebigc

#1336029  by abc8251

I applied to an Engineer position with Amtrak out of Philly. Do you think that was a waste of time? I graduated recently from the Modoc Railroad Conductor program. The posting said they prefer Engineer certification, but I've heard they hire "off the street" as well. I actually believe I'm capable of doing the job (with training of course). I am very mature and safety aware. I never take chances, and I have excellent judgment (don't mean to brag lol). Engineers do have a lot on their shoulders though, and you're the only one in the cab. I think they should have a second set of eyes up there.
 #1336510  by 8th Notch

If your truly interested in the job then it's never a waste of time to apply, you never know what could happen. Back the the reality side of things, Amtrak can be really hard to break into (especially as an engr). I came in with a class 1 license and it took me numerous tries... I noticed the majority of the people off the street either are Vets or have some type of heavy machinery operating experience so if you have of of those aside from the Modoc then you probably have a fair shot but don't get your hopes up. As it was passed on to me, remember engineer is the hardest job on the railroad to get and the easiest to lose.
 #1336712  by mvb119