Railroad Forums 

• Amtrak: Connects US // American Jobs Plan Infrastructure Legislation

• Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.
Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.

Moderators: GirlOnTheTrain, mtuandrew, Tadman

#1568453  by MikeBPRR

gokeefe wrote: Sun Apr 11, 2021 4:58 pm That might also have the effect of easing platform congestion at Penn Station ... Others who know better can likely confirm if this is correct ....

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
I’m no expert, but looking at OpenRailMap, it theoretically could be done, as long as any through-routed Empire Service trains made it to tracks 5-7; tracks 1-4 dead-end under Seventh Avenue.

If this service does come to pass to Ronkonkoma, my guess is that it would take the NYP slots of some LIRR Ronkonkoma trains that will be rerouted to Grand Central Terminal once East Side Access is completed, and I also think that they may cross-honor LIRR tickets like Amtrak does for MARC on its Penn Line.

Edited out something that made no sense.
 #1568469  by GWoodle

eolesen wrote: Sat Apr 10, 2021 6:48 pm Still curious what they can use for power... I don't believe the Sprinters have a third rail shoe right now.

Sent from my SM-G981U using Tapatalk
Makes me wonder if Amtrak does this in the next 3-5 years could we see trains with rebuilt P42 + 3-4 Amfleet or Horizon cars released from regional duty? The locos & cars could be replaced in the next 3-5 years. Keep production of new locos, new Viewliners, other single level cars for 10 years? Also need a plan to replace locos & cars from the Superliner fleet.
 #1568488  by electricron

gokeefe wrote: Sat Apr 10, 2021 5:47 pm LIRR is a railroad subject to the STB just like any other carrier. Amtrak can compel access if they chose too. I doubt very much of course that it would ever come to that.