Railroad Forums 

• Abandoned NYC line: Western Ohio

• Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in the American Midwest, including Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Iowa and Kansas. For questions specific to a railroad company, please seek the appropriate forum.
Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in the American Midwest, including Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Iowa and Kansas. For questions specific to a railroad company, please seek the appropriate forum.

Moderator: railohio

#541186  by Northwest727

Sorry if this has been posted before, I am a n00b.

Anyways, I have noticed a while back when flying (I am a pilot), a line that runs parallel to the OH/IN state line. After further research, I found that this was the former Cincinnati Northern, later Big 4 then NYC line, that ran from Jackson, Michigan to Franklin, Ohio. A website, michiganrailroads.com, states that the portion of this line from Cement City, Michigan to Bryan, Ohio was abandoned in 1975. Otherwise, the history of this line is very sketchy.

Does anybody know when the line was built, and the rest abandoned?

Thanks

here is some maps of the line:
(1916) http://www.michiganrailroads.com/RRHX/M ... ap1916.htm
(1967) http://www.railsandtrails.com/Maps/PC-O ... /index.htm

#541266  by railohio

There was supposed to be a book coming out on the Cincinnati Northern a few years ago but I can't find decent information on it online now. I did find that "March 31, 1977 was the last run by Conrail through Van Wert to North Paulding" (WesternOhioRails).

#541548  by tocfan

Northwest727

Go over to the New York Central forum, I believe if you check way back in the threads, there is one on the Cincinnati Northern. Unfortunately, the CN is probably the NYC line I am least familiar with. If you can find the thread post your question there.

BTW does Northwest have any 727's left????

Mike Fleming