Railroad Forums 

• A few questions from a newbie

• General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.
General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.

Moderator: thebigc

#1340736  by testlightst

This is my first post on here but would love to get some information before deciding on a major career change . Any information, tips or advise will be appreciated. First off I'm 35 and married to a woman that I love to no end . I've been working at a job for 14 years where I get paid very well for this area ( about 50k- 55k annual ) and have seniority and home at nights. My wife is very understandung in whatever choice I make but I have a few questions regarding train crew employment at Union Pacific . I know that a train crew is basically a step behind a conductor. How long does it normally take on average to become a conductor?
Also I would love to get as much detailed info on how all the " undisturbed time " works and how that starts and the mandatory rest periods. I've read tons of posts about the time away from home and I realize that . Just would like to know when one can expect some time home .from what I get. You leave your home terminal and when you get to your away from home terminal a 16 hour clock starts before they pay you while waiting . But also there is a 10 mandatory rest period ? I would like to get a better understanding on all of this .
My goal is to be a conductor. Thanks for the help everyone .
 #1341108  by Engineer Spike

The 10 hr. rest is a law. The parts about going on held away pay is contractual. I don't work at UP, but it may vary. They likely still have separate contracts in place on former SP, UP, WP, SSW, MP, MKT lines.