Railroad Forums 

• Of Vandals and Visigoths

• General discussion about locomotives, rolling stock, and equipment
General discussion about locomotives, rolling stock, and equipment

Moderator: John_Perkowski

#769623  by trainsinmaine

I was driving by NMJ a few days ago, where there was parked a long string of boxcars on the PanAm (MEC) main. Almost all of them had griffiti on them.

I'm curious as to where this stuff originates. I used to be an elementary school art teacher; some of what's depicted displays genuine talent. That aside, it IS vandalism, it IS illegal, and I can't imagine how people get away with it. It takes time to create it; it can't be painted in the dark, and urban freight yards are usually well lighted. What's more, railroad police are often on the prowl looking for trespassers (I assume). I've seen hundreds, if not thousands, of griffitus-covered freight cars over the years.

Any insights anyone can share?
 #769668  by v8interceptor

trainsinmaine wrote:I was driving by NMJ a few days ago, where there was parked a long string of boxcars on the PanAm (MEC) main. Almost all of them had griffiti on them.

I'm curious as to where this stuff originates. I used to be an elementary school art teacher; some of what's depicted displays genuine talent. That aside, it IS vandalism, it IS illegal, and I can't imagine how people get away with it. It takes time to create it; it can't be painted in the dark, and urban freight yards are usually well lighted. What's more, railroad police are often on the prowl looking for trespassers (I assume). I've seen hundreds, if not thousands, of griffitus-covered freight cars over the years.

Any insights anyone can share?
The railroads could not possibly afford enough security personnel to keep an eye on all their physical plant. There are thousands of miles of line and many of the places where railcars are spotted have no physical barriers preventing access so I see nothing surprising about this.......