Railroad Forums 

• I-ETMS Question - Please help

• General discussion about locomotives, rolling stock, and equipment
General discussion about locomotives, rolling stock, and equipment

Moderator: John_Perkowski

#1412465  by samcevoy

I am a rail transportation engineer working for a commuter railroad that will be using ACSES.

I have a few simple questions about I-ETMS and am hoping that there are some BNSF engineers or other knowledgeable railroaders on here who can answer these questions.

1 - Does I-ETMS monitor or control throttle setting or propulsion power? Does I-ETMS ever take propulsion power away, and if yes, how quickly and under what conditions?

2 - Does I-ETMS permit bail-off of the engine brake(s). I am assuming that I-ETMS permits bailing off the engine brake as long as the train stays below the governing profile!? Does I-ETMS ever prevent engine-brake bail-off, and if yes, under what conditions?

E-mail answers will be fine, and a telephone call will also be fine.

Thanks in advance.

Steve McEvoy

AECOM (Ex New Haven, Penn Central and LIRR railroads)

610-399-3412

[email protected]
 #1413478  by John_Perkowski

Moved by an Admin to General Discussion: Locomotives, Rolling Stock, and Equipment...

Also, made a Forum sticky.
 #1508509  by Engineer Spike