Railroad Forums 

• Erie Newark Branch wayfreight

• Discussion relating to the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western, the Erie, and the resulting 1960 merger creating the Erie Lackawanna. Visit the Erie Lackawanna Historical Society at http://www.erielackhs.org/.
Discussion relating to the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western, the Erie, and the resulting 1960 merger creating the Erie Lackawanna. Visit the Erie Lackawanna Historical Society at http://www.erielackhs.org/.

Moderator: blockline4180

#143894  by PeterR

What type of locomotives would have been used in wayfreight service on the Newark Branch of the Erie between 1945 and 1955? The line runs from Waldwick through Paterson, Nutley and Newark to Jersey City...

I am new to Railroad.net--seems like a great organization!

#143992  by snavely

The old memory isn't the greatest anymore and I was but a mere tot during the early '50's however I seem to recall seeing RS-2's and SW's on the line. Can't swear to it, but maybe also the occasional GP also. No thru freights on the branch, just way freights and commuters.
 #144219  by ChiefTroll

The Newark Branch didn't run all the way to Waldwick. The passenger timetables in the Official Guide show Newark Branch passenger trains running to Waldwick, but from Paterson (XW Tower) to Waldwick they were on the New York Division Main Line. In "modern" times (including the era 1945-1955) the Newark Branch left the Greenwood Lake Branch just west of DB Bridge over the Hackensack River at Snake Hill, and joined the Erie Main at XW. It crossed the Passaic River on NX Bridge, a bascule bridge still standing open.