Railroad Forums 

• Trolley Tracks on 49th St.

• Discussion relating to Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority (Philadelphia Metro Area). Official web site can be found here: www.septa.com. Also including discussion related to the PATCO Speedline rapid transit operated by Delaware River Port Authority. Official web site can be found here: http://www.ridepatco.org/.
Discussion relating to Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority (Philadelphia Metro Area). Official web site can be found here: www.septa.com. Also including discussion related to the PATCO Speedline rapid transit operated by Delaware River Port Authority. Official web site can be found here: http://www.ridepatco.org/.

Moderator: AlexC

#869428  by M&Eman

Does the nonrevenue trackage on 49th St. between Baltimore Ave. and Elmwood Depot ever get used, and if so, by what? I am a relative newbie to the Philly area and only had the occasion of seeing the subway surface lines in action in person for the first time this weekend. I understand the 42nd St. tracks are used when one of the portals, either 36th or 40th must be closed and lines using one portal must be detoured to the other.
 #869453  by Patrick Boylan

That's the way routes 34 Baltimore and sometimes 13 Chester Ave inbound get to and from the Elmwood depot.
13 Chester Ave can, and usually does, use the connection between Yeadon and Darby loops to pull in via the route 11 Woodland Ave.
 #869506  by redarrow5591

49th is used for almost all 34 Pull ins and -outs; there is a few pull-outs around 3PM that turn at Chester Ave and head downtown. All starting and finishing 34 cars are deadheads between Angora and Elmwood Depot.