Railroad Forums 

• Why Can't SEPTA's Subway System Look Like This?

• Discussion relating to Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority (Philadelphia Metro Area). Official web site can be found here: www.septa.com. Also including discussion related to the PATCO Speedline rapid transit operated by Delaware River Port Authority. Official web site can be found here: http://www.ridepatco.org/.
Discussion relating to Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority (Philadelphia Metro Area). Official web site can be found here: www.septa.com. Also including discussion related to the PATCO Speedline rapid transit operated by Delaware River Port Authority. Official web site can be found here: http://www.ridepatco.org/.

Moderator: AlexC

#1285272  by PhilliesPhan2013

As a college honor student, I am beginning to plan out my honor's thesis. So far, I have two ideas: my first idea involves a detailed history of rail operations in the Philadelphia area, and the second one is more of an urban planning long-term transit solution for the Philadelphia area. In coming up with a heavy rail mass transit map (not including Route 100), I actually designed a map that would be very functional for Philly.

http://www.scribblemaps.com/maps/view/K1g74aM4dg" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Why can't Philadelphia have a subway system like this? I think that this would make transit in Center City and the surrounding neighborhoods of Philly much more efficient.

Quick information:

MFL: New western terminus at 476, new northeastern terminus at Busleton Ave and Strahle St.
BSL: New southern terminus at Market St and Broadway in Gloucester City, NJ. BSL Roosevelt Blvd extension is built with a northeastern terminus at Woodhaven Rd.
PATCO: New western terminus at 38th St in University City.
Broad-Ridge Spur: Renamed "Airport Spur". New southeastern terminus at Terminal A of Philadelphia International Airport on Delaware County side of airport.