Railroad Forums 

• Saving money

• Discussion relating to commuter rail, light rail, and subway operations of the MBTA.
Discussion relating to commuter rail, light rail, and subway operations of the MBTA.

Moderators: sery2831, CRail

#1372610  by Yellowspoon

I am a huge rail fan. But I'm also an accountant. Here's why an underground North-South-Rail-Link (NSRL) is a poor idea. Do something else with the money.

Even in Romney's day, the expected cost was eight billion. At four percent interest, that means that the interest costs are $867,000 per DAY. That does not include the operating costs or maintenance costs. A million dollars a day may not seem like much to you, but it's more than I make in a whole year. Even if five thousand people per day used this link, that's still $160 per trip. It's not worth it. And I think the number of users would be less than two thousand per day ($430 per trip).

The first question I have is to determine what the goal is.
A - Do you want through trains from NYC to Manchester?
B - Do you want through trains from Framingham to Lynn?
C - Do riders from Wilmington want to get to South Station without changing trains? We all want to get to our destination without changing trains. If you're going to connect North Station to South Station, why not connect North Station directly with Logan Airport, too?

(1) There is no significant demand. Between 1901 and 1938, the Atlantic Avenue Elevated was an existing NSRL. At the heyday of rail travel, it was abandoned due to lack of use. Currently, the #4 bus only runs during weekday rush hour.