Railroad Forums 

• State Transportation Library

• Discussion relating to commuter rail, light rail, and subway operations of the MBTA.
Discussion relating to commuter rail, light rail, and subway operations of the MBTA.

Moderators: sery2831, CRail

#1277011  by banshee

Looks like the Sanborn library is being boxed up. Is DOT shuttering the old girl?
Wonder what George would think?
 #1277012  by BostonUrbEx

I'd be shocked if they were. Maybe they're packing everything up to be sent somewhere for digitizing? It is horrendously cluttered and very, very poorly organized.

I certainly hope they're just working on a remodel or digitization project of some sort!
 #1277299  by banshee

Adams_Umass_Boston wrote:News to me. I am a librarian, not at the STL. I will ask around tomorrow.
Heard the librarian is being reassigned.
doesn't look good
 #1277829  by BostonUrbEx

A MassDOT PR employee checked with some folks for me and said the library ain't goin' nowhere. There was recently some work to upgrade the lighting and update the walls. The space was also shuffled around for some recent meetings.
 #1277903  by Cosmo

BostonUrbEx wrote:A MassDOT PR employee checked with some folks for me and said the library ain't goin' nowhere. There was recently some work to upgrade the lighting and update the walls. The space was also shuffled around for some recent meetings.
YAAAAY!!! :-D
(Good to know,as I haven't gotten a chance to visit it yet.)
 #1290055  by WickedPissah

Word is the library is actively being packed up today. I'm not sure if it's some stuff, everything or what, just that stuff is being put into boxes. I'm exhausting my resources trying to figure out what is happening. Anyone here have any info?
 #1290102  by Adams_Umass_Boston

I am a Librarian, and I reached out and emailed a few people connected with it and heard nothing back. I just took it as its the summer and people are away or busy. Summer is always a big time for projects at libraries.