Railroad Forums 

• Loading problems?

• Discussion of Electro-Motive locomotive products and technology, past and present. Official web site can be found here: http://www.emdiesels.com/.
Discussion of Electro-Motive locomotive products and technology, past and present. Official web site can be found here: http://www.emdiesels.com/.

Moderator: GOLDEN-ARM

#688812  by chris681

In regards to units 690,621,643, maybe Ive missed something in reading various posts. When some one refers to a unit having loading problems or dropping its load, what mechanically goes a fray and how would this be remedied? I have some mechanical knowledge so specifics would be nice if possible.
 #688897  by v8interceptor

The short answer is that most locomotives in North America use a diesel- electric drive system rather than a mechanical transmission like most road or off-road vehicles. That means that the diesel prime mover turns an alternator (or a generator in older units) which generates current that then energizes electric traction motors geared to each of the axles. "Slow to load" refers to the lag between the engine reving up (responding to the throttle) and the traction motors responding via the electrical system. It's obv. a lot more complicated than that when you factor in AC vs. DC drive, ect..
 #689005  by chris681

So im assuming now that if a locomotive "drops" its load over a certain speed it simply doens't produce any power at the axles. Ive head several terms or phrases in reqards to loading problems. Maybe im just getting hung up on wording. Thanks you for the answer.
 #689122  by NV290