Railroad Forums 

• SD50 vs. SD40-2

• Discussion of Electro-Motive locomotive products and technology, past and present. Official web site can be found here: http://www.emdiesels.com/.
Discussion of Electro-Motive locomotive products and technology, past and present. Official web site can be found here: http://www.emdiesels.com/.

Moderator: GOLDEN-ARM

#1483292  by Narr8rdanny

What are the main differences, mechanically, between an SD50 and an SD40-2?
I just recently shot some drone video of trains that had one of each and noticed that the hood on the 40 is much shorter than on the 50.
I know the 50's had major problems after they were introduced, but were saved via a modification. Could someone give me the major difference here?
Thanks very much,

Danny Harmon
Youtube.com/distantsignal
 #1483318  by trainiac

I'm not an expert on the minutiae of the mechanical details between the two units, but the main reason for the longer carbody was the relocation of the dynamic brakes from above the prime mover to behind the cab, along with a stretched radiator section. The first SD50 prototypes were built on frames the same length as the SD40-2 and lacked the rearmost door of the engine compartment present on later units. By contrast, the GP50 and GP60 kept the dynamic brakes above the prime mover along with a shorter radiator section, so their hoods were not much longer than on the GP40-2.

Mechanically, the SD50 uprated the prime mover from 3000 to 3500-3600 hp. My understanding is that the higher engine speed associated with the horsepower increase (950 instead of 900 rpm) led to vibrations that negatively affected reliability. When the 3800 hp 710 engine was introduced, the speed was dropped back to 900 rpm until later in SD70 series production. The SD50 had quality-control issues with parts being outsourced or cheapened.