Railroad Forums 

• Builders plates

• Discussion related to Baldwin Locomotive Works, Lima Locomotive Works, Lima-Hamilton Corporation, and Baldwin-Lima-Hamilton.
Discussion related to Baldwin Locomotive Works, Lima Locomotive Works, Lima-Hamilton Corporation, and Baldwin-Lima-Hamilton.

Moderator: lumpy72

#528236  by Richard Caig

I have been collecting builders plates for a few years now. I am just posting this listing to see if there are any other people out there with a simular interest.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Thanks
Richard

#530633  by Tadman

Richard - I collect the builder's plates off old cranes. One brand of crane, Sheperd Niles, was owned by BLH at one time but spun off during the 1940's I believe. Crane builders plates are massive, I have a few that are as tall as me.

#530676  by Richard Caig

I would love to see a couple of pictures of the crane builders plates. They sound bigger than locomotive builders plates. Are there many people who collect them ? From time to time crane builders plates appear on Ebay or at some of the auctions where there are locomotive builders plates and they don't realize high dollars surprizingly. A short while ago I was looking at a crane builders plate on Ebay, built by Lima. Who are the main crane builders out there ? I guess Lima would be one, I have heard of a company called Marion but I am not sure they build cranes or mining shovels. My email address is [email protected] should you have any pictures. all the best, richard

#537134  by kevin kohls