Railroad Forums 

• early Amtrak vision of High-Speed service

• Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.
Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.

Moderators: GirlOnTheTrain, mtuandrew, Tadman

#828168  by Seaboard1968

I'm new to the RAILROAD.NET forums and have been mostly hanging out in CSXland. But, I've been reading and thinking about High-Speed passenger rail and how it would affect
the USA. This of course got me thinking about early Amtrak. So...if we went back in time to the late 1970s or early 1980s what would Amtrak have considered High-Speed rail
service. This question assumes that there would be adequate funding and political willpower. Any comments would be appreciated. Thanks!
 #828178  by spacecadet

That's a CN Turbo Train, but Amtrak operated these as well.

These were designed for 170mph speeds, but only reached 120mph in actual use (I guess due to the tracks in North America).

More here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UAC_TurboTrain

Amtrak also did call their early Metroliners "high speed" trains for a while, and they were the result of the High Speed Rail Act of 1965. These were also capable of 160+mph speeds, but I don't think they ever went higher than 125mph in service.

The tracks have always been the biggest problem, not the trains.
 #828197  by Matt Johnson

spacecadet wrote: Amtrak also did call their early Metroliners "high speed" trains for a while, and they were the result of the High Speed Rail Act of 1965. These were also capable of 160+mph speeds, but I don't think they ever went higher than 125mph in service.

The tracks have always been the biggest problem, not the trains.
Well, officially anyway! I do recall a poster here describing an early Metroliner trip where the speedometer was showing 137 mph near Princeton Junction - about what the Acela does there today!