Railroad Forums 

• I'm New at This, What can I expect.......

• Discussion related to railroad radio frequencies, railroad communication practices, equipment, and more.
Discussion related to railroad radio frequencies, railroad communication practices, equipment, and more.

Moderator: Aa3rt

#906145  by WSH

I've had a hand held FM Tranciever for a while. I just recently got a list of frequencies that local railroads (CSX/NS) use. As soon as I get a new battery I'm eager to tune into the railroad frequencies. I have a few questions:

-What type of stuff would I expect to hear?
-How often would I expect to hear stuff, would it be directly related to current rail traffic or would I expect to hear stuff throughout the day.
 #907089  by Gadfly

Whatever you do, do NOT be tempted to TRANSMIT on railroad frequencies. I am not assuming you would, but it would get you into bunch of doo doo! It is fine to listen, but transmitting on your handheld radio TO the trains is a major No no! Just friendly advice.

GF
 #907822  by WSH

Don't worry guys I'm new at this in terms of listening to railroad radio. I know enought about radio to know not to transmit!
I'm still not clear on what type of "transmissions related to current traffic" I would hear. Would they be relaying their current position? Is it all business or do the train crews use these frequencies to "shoot the breeze" too?

Two curious questions I've come up with:
-Has a train crew ever spied a scanner trackside and said "hey" to them?
-If there were a legit emergency (person/car on tracks) would it be acceptable to contact a train crew via radio?
 #907901  by JLJ061

WSH wrote:Don't worry guys I'm new at this in terms of listening to railroad radio. I know enought about radio to know not to transmit!